Fast of Qada'

Whoever has missed a fast of Ramadan is liable to compensate it with fasting after Ramadan. This fast is called 'the fast of qada''.

Fast of qada' may be observed any day during the year except for the following days:

1.     First of Shawwal (Eidul-fitr)
2.     Tenth of Thul-Hijjah (Eidul-Adha)
3.     Eleventh, twelfth, and thirteenth of Thul-Hijjah. On these days fasting is strictly prohibited, so the fast of qada' cannot be observed on these days.

Fast of qada' should be observed as soon as possible after one has missed a fast of Ramadan. Delaying the performance of qada' without a valid reason is not desirable. If someone has missed more than one fast, he can perform qada' for all of them continuously, or with intervals. But the fasts of kaffarah should necessarily be continuous - without any interval. Any interval makes the previous fasts nullified for the purpose of kaffarah, and one has to begin the fasts all over again.

Unlike the fast of Ramadan and optional (nafl) fasts, in the fast of qada' it is necessary to make niyyah before the dawn.

If a person has an obligation to keep a large number of the fasts of qada', he should write down the exact number of the fasts due on him. He should also make a will that if he could not fast in his life time, his heirs should pay fidyah (redemption from obligation not carried out) from his left over property. The amount of fidyah for one fast is one kilo and six hundred sixty-two grams of wheat or its price. If the amount of fidyah can be paid from one-third property of a deceased person who has made a will to pay fidyah, the heirs are bound to pay it from his left over property. But if the deceased made no will to pay fidyah, the heirs are not bound to pay it from his property. Similarly, if the amount of fidyah exceeds one-third of the property left by the deceased, the heirs are not liable to pay the excess, unless they wish to do so by their free will. 

No comments:

Post a Comment